Webinar banner
Silicones in Food Contact Materials.
Join us on June 25, 2019 at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 6pm Central Europe to learn about the use of silicone in food contact materials (FCM) and the associated health effects. Silicone is used in a wide array of products including bakeware, cosmetics, personal care products, infant and toddler products, and food packaging. However, there is limited data and scientific understanding of the exposure pathways and health effects from the variety of chemical makeups in silicones and their different uses. Studies have shown that certain silicone constituents leach into food or oxidize when heated leading to potential ingestion and inhalation.

In this webinar, Dr. Birgit Geuke, Scientific Officer at the Food Packaging Forum, will discuss her publication, Dossier on Silicones. She will focus her presentation on the use of silicone in food contact materials (FCM) and the associated health outcomes. Silicones are a highly versatile class of polymers. Silicone-based food contact materials include fluids, rubbers and resins, in addition to being used as additives in plastic. During the webinar areas of application and current regulations will also be covered, in addition to the results on migration, exposure, and toxicology of silicones.

For full details, visit https://www.healthandenvironment.org and select this webinar at the bottom of the homepage.

Jun 25, 2019 09:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Hannah Donart.