webinar register page

Webinar banner
This webinar is for users with a Zoom account. New to Zoom? Sign up free.
IASTE 2020 DISRUPTIVE TRADITIONS: THE PANDEMIC AND ITS IMPACT ON TRADITIONAL BUILT ENVIRONMENTS
DATE: Saturday September 5, 2020. 2:00-4:30 GMT
Start Time:
2:00 PM GMT
London 3:00 PM
San Francisco 7:00 AM
New York 10:00 AM
Rome 4:00 PM
Cairo 4:00 PM
Beirut 5:00 PM
Riyadh 5:00 Pm
Bangkok 9:00 PM
Hong Kong 10:00 PM
Tokyo 11.00 PM
Sydney 12:00 AM Sunday September 6, 2020

The Symposium
As an organization dedicated to increasing our understanding of place, tradition, and change, the International Association for the Study of Traditional Environments (IASTE) is pleased to host a live seminar with four seminal scholars and practitioners who will try to answer a series of questions in an attempt to further the discourse on the post-pandemic city. They bring a deep knowledge of ancient history, digital media, contemporary design, and cultural heritage and their voices will help us develop a deeper understanding of what this pandemic means to the future of our cities.
Our panelists will respond to the following questions, from their disciplinary and scholarly experiences:
What modes of disruptive traditions that are occurring during the pandemic might shape new urban patterns and how should we embrace this change?
How will traffic flows shift? Will the flow of people towards urban centers for work, shopping and entertainment be reversed towards more rural, isolated and protected communities?
How will practices such as architecture and design adjust to new norms of urban tradition? Will that influence our perception of density and decisions on where to live?
How will we engage with heritage, history, and culture in more mobile, spatially disconnected, and virtual environments?
How much will virtual environments (workspace, education, culture, and tourism) contribute to more intelligent cities? Greener cities?
This live symposium will be held Saturday, September 5th 2020 -1400-1630 GMT. The event is free and open to the public but participants must preregister.

Please see www.iaste.org for updates.

Sep 5, 2020 02:00 PM in Greenwich Mean Time

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: IASTE.