webinar register page

Webinar banner
Climate Change and Extreme Weather Events
Join us on November 20, 2019 at 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 7pm Central Europe to learn about the potential health impacts of climate change and extreme weather events.

During this webinar, Dr. Susan Anenberg will present two of her publications looking at the health impacts of extreme weather events and industrial disasters in the Gulf Coast and droughts in southwestern U.S. In the study, Extreme Weather, Chemical Facilities, and Vulnerable Communities in the U.S. Gulf Coast: A Disastrous Combination, Dr. Anenberg looks at how hurricanes, floods, and erosion are exacerbated by climate change, exposing many more vulnerable populations to hazardous chemicals.

Dr. Anenberg will also present her research looking at droughts in the southwestern United States, which is projected to experience severe, multidecadal droughts due to human‐caused climate change. Dr. Anenberg and coauthors combined historical statistical relationships between meteorological conditions, drought, and airborne dust with climate model projections and epidemiological concentration-response relationships to estimate that premature mortality associated with dust exposure may increase substantially by the end of the century.

Dr. Bonne Ford will discuss findings from her study, Future Fire Impacts on Smoke Concentrations, Visibility, and Health in the Contiguous United States. In this study, Dr. Ford and colleagues investigated the impact of futfire emissions using a global climate model with fire emissions from a prognostic land-fire model. Future fire emissions in the model are determined by changes in climate, land use, and socioeconomic drivers.

For full details, visit https://www.healthandenvironment.org and select this webinar at the bottom of the homepage.

Nov 20, 2019 10:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

* Required information
Loading