webinar register page

Building Food Sovereignty in Nicaragua
Sunday February 28th, 2021
12pm PST / 2pm Nicaragua / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT

Nicaraguans are hard at work on a multi-faceted approach to ensure people's freedom from hunger and adequate nutrition. The speakers in this webinar will discuss Nicaragua's efforts toward food sovereignty, including farmer associations like the ATC, agroecology projects, and government programs such as Zero Hunger and school meals.

Speakers:
Erika Takeo is a North American based in Managua, Nicaragua. She is the coordinator of the Friends of the ATC, the solidarity network with the Rural Workers Association, and also a part of the international staff team in the Continental Operating Secretariat of the Latin American Coordination of Rural Organizations, CLOC, the expression of La Via Campesina in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Rita Jill Clark-Gollub has lived in the United States most of her life, but has family roots in Nicaragua. While always generally in support of the Sandinista Revolution, since 2018 she has been studying the situation in the country more closely in an effort to sort through the misinformation published in U.S. corporate media. The past two years she attended two study delegations to Nicaragua, learning lots and making new connections with social movements on the ground. She is also an Assistant Editor/Translator at the Council on Hemispheric Affairs.

The webinar will have a duration of 75 minutes and will be recorded. Please register for the webinar to receive a follow-up email with the event recording and additional materials.

This is the February edition of a monthly webinar series on Nicaragua, co-sponsored by:
Alliance for Global Justice
Casa Baltimore/Limay
Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign
Chicago ALBA Solidarity
Friends of Sandinista Nicaragua
Friends of Latin America
Task Force on the Americas
Friends of the ATC
IRTF Cleveland
Council on Hemispheric Affairs

Additional organizational sponsors welcome. Contact info.friendsatc@gmail.com to sign on.

Feb 28, 2021 12:00 PM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Food Sovereignty Webinar.