Webinar banner
Bioplastics: Investigating Opportunities and Challenges
Join us on February 28, 2019 at 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern / 8pm Central Europe to learn about bioplastics: what they are, how they are used, and what their known and possible impacts are on public health, from production through end-of-life.

Dr. Ramani Narayan, University Distinguished Professor, Michigan State University College of Engineering, will discuss what the terms bioplastic, bio-based plastic, and biodegradable/compostable plastic mean, the environmental and greenwashing claims surrounding them, and the advantages and disadvantages of bioplastics in terms of impacts to human health and the environment. Dr. Marty Mulvihill, Co-founder and Managing Partner, Safer Made and Researcher and Advisor, Berkeley Center for Green Chemistry, will highlight current applications of bioplastics, drawing examples from apparel and food packaging. He will also discuss the opportunity for finding new functional additives as well as the next generation of bio-polymers. Dr. Ann Blake, Founder and Principal, Ann Blake Environmental & Public Health Consulting, will describe the current landscape of the bioplastics industry, including responses to drivers such as increasing public concern around plastic pollution from single-use plastics. She will also discuss our opportunity to create criteria across the life cycle of bioplastics to ensure their health and environmental impacts do not recreate the problems of fossil-fuel-based materials.

For full details, visit https://www.healthandenvironment.org and select this webinar at the bottom of the homepage.

Feb 28, 2019 11:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Maria Williams.