Webinar banner
ANZAED Webinar: Exploring the use of Sensory Approaches in the field of Eating Disorders
Presenter: Alex Hillman, Occupational Therapist

There is increasing interest in the use of sensory approaches (SA) in the field of eating disorders. SA are a person-centred, recovery-oriented and trauma-informed interventions that are frequently utilised in mental health given the non-invasive, self-directive and empowering nature of these approaches. Increased self-awareness, ability to self-nurture, resilience, self-esteem and body image, ability to engage in therapeutic activities, self-care activities, meaningful life roles, and social activities, and ability to cope with triggers are outcomes associated with SA. Despite these benefits, the use of SA with people experiencing eating disorders is yet to be thoroughly explored in the literature and in practice. In a recent scoping review of sensory processing and mental illness literature, Bailliard and Whigham (2017) identified only 3 studies that have explored sensory processing with the eating disorders population. These studies reported that people with eating disorders experience differences in how their sensory systems process and interpret sensory information, which has a functional impact on body perception, socialising and eating behaviours.

This webinar will explore the utilisation of SA within the field of eating disorders, discussing the “Who, What, When, Where & Why”.

Thursday 20 June (1 hour duration)
2pm New Zealand
12pm NSW, ACT, VIC, TAS, QLD
11:30am SA, NT
10am WA, Singapore, Hong Kong,
4am South Africa, Spain
10pm USA EDT

Jun 20, 2019 12:00 PM in Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Rini Das.