Webinar banner
Climate Change and Air Pollution: Health Inequities, Future Climate Related Mortality, and Co-benefits from Decarbonization
Join us on October 15, 2019 at 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 7pm Central Europe to learn about the impacts of climate change and air pollution on human health.

During this webinar, Dr. Maria Cecilia Pinto de Moura, senior vehicles engineer in the Clean Transportation program at the Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS), will present the findings of two recent UCS studies on air pollution from on-road vehicles, which investigated the inequities of exposure to PM2.5, as well as the cumulative benefits from avoided climate costs, and avoided health costs related to exposure to PM2.5 and NOx emissions. DR. Raquel Silva, lead health scientist at ICF, will also present her publication which estimated future global premature mortality due to changes in air pollution attributable to climate change. She will highlight her approach to using several global chemistry–climate models to simulate future concentrations of ozone and PM2.5, separating the impact of future climate change from that of changing emissions. Our final presenter, Tianyang (Tony) Wang, will discuss his research looking at how different deep decarbonization pathways in California can lead to different air quality and health co-benefits. He will give an overview of his integrated approach, which combined energy and emission technology modeling, high-resolution chemical transport simulation, and health impact assessment.

For full details, visit https://www.healthandenvironment.org and select this webinar at the bottom of the homepage.

Oct 15, 2019 10:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

* Required information
Loading