Webinar banner
Climate Change and Heat: health effects, adaptation strategies, and the benefits of mitigation
Join us on September 19, 2019 at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 6pm Central Europe to learn about some of the heat-related health effects, potential adaptation strategies, and the benefits of climate change mitigation.

Dr. Gregory Wellenius, Associate Professor of Epidemiology at the Brown University School of Public Health and Director of Brown’s Center for Environmental Health and Technology, will present a brief summary of the documented associations between ambient temperatures and birth outcomes, with an emphasis on recent findings from his group on the association between temperature and markers of fetal growth and risk of preterm birth. Dr Eunice Lo, Research Associate for the Bristol Research Initiative for the Dynamic Global Environment (BRIDGE) at the University of Bristol, will describe her work modeling different global warming scenarios in 15 U.S. cities and the estimated heat related health benefits of employing stronger climate mitigation strategies in order to keep ambient temperatures below the 1.5°C threshold above preindustrial levels.

For full details, visit https://www.healthandenvironment.org and select this webinar at the bottom of the homepage.

Sep 19, 2019 09:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Hannah Donart.