webinar register page

Webinar banner
Rebels For Whose Cause? Stories from the frontline of gendered counter-terrorism
A discussion marking Crisis Group's new briefing on the 20th anniversary of UNSCR 1325, the WPS agenda's prospects and troubled implementation. We will explore how WPS work has been integrated with the complement to counter-terrorism known as "countering violent extremism."

Panellists will describe their experiences and field research from Nigeria to Tunisia to Afghanistan, examining how activism has become tangled in and sometimes subordinated to, states' efforts to combat Islamist militancy. We will discuss practical recommendations for governments and donors promoting a safer and more equitable vision of the WPS agenda.

Panel includes:
Azadeh Moaveni: Crisis Group’s Gender Project Director

Hodan Hassan: Executive director of Kulan Consulting. Previously, she spent 12 years with USAID managing development programs in Sudan and Somalia.

Aleksandra Dier: Gender Coordinator at the UN Counter-Terrorism Committee Executive Directorate (CTED). Previously, she served in UN field missions in Afghanistan and Burundi.

Chitra Nagarajan: Writer and activist who works to build peace and promote and protect human rights, including those of women, in Nigeria.

Sussan Tahmasebi: Women's rights advocate from Iran and founder and Executive Director of Femena.

Moderated by
Naz Modirzadeh: Director of the Harvard Law School Program on International Law and Armed Conflict and a Crisis Group Trustee.

8:30am EST, 1:30pm GMT, 2:30pm CET

Dec 18, 2020 02:30 PM in Brussels

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: International Crisis Group Events.