Skip to main content
custom logo
What Human Rights Mean for Business
On 30 May, join the third Academy session for an interactive conversation about what human rights mean for business with Zeid Ra'ad Al Hussein, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and Lise Kingo, CEO and Executive Director of the United Nations Global Compact.

On 10 December this year, the world will celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). This is a crucial time for the UN, and for business, to promote, engage, and reflect on how far we’ve come – and how much work is still remaining – to ensure that the human rights of everyone, everywhere, are protected and respected. While a critical mass of companies now understand that human rights is crucial for responsible business, we still see a gap between commitment and action. How are leading companies closing that gap? How can human rights help companies do business better? What are the obstacles preventing companies from knowing and showing their human rights impacts?

What will Participants Learn?
-Why the Universal Declaration of Human Rights remains crucial to business in 2018, and how companies can join in the celebrations for the 70th Anniversary
-How businesses are leading on integrating human rights into the heart of how they operate
-Why knowing and showing human rights impacts remains crucial for doing business responsibly
-Examples of human rights challenges and good practice for business in this technological era

Join us on 30 May at 9.30 a.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. GMT/3:30 p.m. CET/10:30 p.m. CST from anywhere in the world for a live webcast of the conversation. Academy participants will also receive guidance documents both before and after the session.

The Academy “Influencer Series" is designed to provide businesses with intimate access to some of the most prominent leaders from UN and business shaping the sustainability agenda.

May 30, 2018 9:30 AM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: United Nations Global Compact.