Skip to main content
Webinar banner
Sharpening Our Focus on MPAs for 2020 and Beyond
Presenters: Jane Lubchenco and Kirsten Grorud-Colvert of Oregon State University, Dan Laffoley of IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas-Marine, and Naomi Kingston of UNEP-World Conservation Monitoring Centre

Description: As countries work toward meeting their Aichi and SDG targets of protecting 10% of the ocean by 2020, and as post-2020 agenda discussions begin, many players are wrestling with the confusion around the plethora of types of MPAs and other related conservation measures. Fortunately, clarity surrounding many of the key issues is emerging. This webinar will describe the consensus arising from multiple recent MPA workshops, including answers to these questions: What is (and is not) an MPA? What standards should all MPAs meet? What are Other Effective Conservation Measures (OECMs) and how do they relate to MPAs? IUCN already recognizes different types of MPAs according to their management objectives and governance arrangements, but is there a simple set of categories to describe the level of protection afforded by an MPA? What outcomes are likely from different levels of protection? Recognizing that it often takes time and multiple steps to establish a new MPA, when during the process should a new MPA be ‘counted’ in official tallies of total protection for a country or the world? Presentations will last approximately one hour, with the final half-hour reserved for questions.

In addition, OCTO is hosting a one-hour live-chat session on Monday, December 10, at 1 pm US EST/10 am US PST/6 pm UTC to provide additional opportunity for questions and discussion with the presenters.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center, MPA News, EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe)

Dec 4, 2018 1:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Sarah Carr.