Skip to main content
custom logo
Communicating climate information and uncertainties better: Cognitive psychology insights and practical experiences
Date: 29 November 2018
Time: 08:00 EDT; 13:00 GMT; 15:00 SAST
Duration: 60 minutes

Facilitator: Jean-Pierre Roux (SouthSouthNorth)

Speakers

Dr Jordan Harold (University of East Anglia)
Ms Emma Visman (VNG Consulting Ltd / King's College London)
Dr Christopher Jack (University of Cape Town)
Dr Irene Lorenzoni (University of East Anglia)

Researchers, national meteorological agencies and civil society face many challenges when trying to communicate climate information and uncertainty to decision-makers. These challenges include i) making data visualisations and probabilistic information more accessible, ii) building trust with stakeholders, and iii) working with decision-makers, under significant time and resource constraints, to co-produce relevant information.

This webinar will share practical recommendations and a few approaches to generating and communicating climate change information and uncertainties. It will draw on insights from cognitive psychology and experiences from Future Climate for Africa’s work in west and southern Africa. This includes engagements to communicate changes in the west African monsoon under climate change, and integrating climate knowledge with urban decision-makers in Lusaka, Windhoek and Maputo. Two approaches will receive more attention: the use of climate impact narratives, and data visualisation and probabilistic information.

Panel presentations will be followed by a Q&A with attendees.

Nov 29, 2018 3:00 PM in Johannesburg

Webinar is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: SouthSouthNorth (SSN).