webinar register page

Panel discussion with CSU grads working on the political frontlines
As part of the Your Voice. Your Vote. Your Rights. initiative to encourage civic engagement, voting and informed discourse, the Colorado State University System is hosting a virtual panel called “CSU Grads on the Political Frontlines” on Friday, Oct. 16. The CSU System is co-sponsoring the panel with CSU Fort Collins, the Department of Journalism and Media Communication, and the Straayer Center for Public Service Leadership.

About the panel
What is it like working as a journalist covering Washington, D.C., during this time of intense political polarization and ongoing protests across the nation as we near election day? What is it like working in communications for organizations where your job involves navigating the nation’s political unrest and ensuing media coverage, or working in other roles in direct contact with the country’s lawmakers and power brokers, and activists trying to fight for change?

This panel discussion focuses on the lives and work of Colorado State University alumni who have established careers in the political arena in the U.S. through their roles as journalists, communications strategists, lobbyists and legal counsel. Six out of seven panelists earned degrees from the Journalism and Media Communication department at CSU, while Molly O’Connor’s degree is in Agricultural Business.

Opening Comments: Tony Frank, CSU System Chancellor

Moderator: Sam Houghteling, CSU Fort Collins Political Science, Straayer Center for Public Service Leadership at Colorado State University


Eugene Daniels II, Video Reporter, Politico

Kelly Kennedy, Managing Editor, The War Horse News

Staci McDermott, Communications Manager, McCain Institute for International Leadership

J. David McSwane, Investigative Reporter, ProPublica

Molly O’Connor, Director of Federal Government Relations and CLPAC Political Director at CropLife America

Brian Roehrkasse, Vice President of Communications, Facebook

Anthony Sciascia, Counsel, U.S. House of Representatives
* Required information