webinar register page

The Microscopy Society of America Logo
DSA Awardee Talk | From Deconvolution and Super-Resolution Light Microscopy to CryoEM Cameras to Beam Induced Motion Correction: Empowering Biology through Technology Developments
Provided will be a brief summary of technological developments made by David Agard and John Sedat (UCSF) in pioneering 3D light and super-resolution microscopy, followed by a focus on cryoEM cameras culminating in the first single electron counting camera made in collaboration with Peter Denes at LBNL and Paul Mooney at Gatan. This will be followed by discussing our efforts in collaboration with Yifan Cheng (UCSF) to mitigate beam induced motion as a critical step in obtain high resolution reconstructions of biological systems.

- Prof. David Agard | University of California, SF

A US biophysicist, David joined the faculty of the department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco in 1983. He is currently a Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics and Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry. David was the founding Director of the California Institute for Bioengineering, Biotechnology and Quantitative Biomedical Research (QB3) in 2001, and was its UCSF Scientific Director from 2002-2006. He received his BS in Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry from Yale in 1975 and PhD in Biological Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology in 1980. Having a strong background in structural biophysics, David’s current work focuses on elucidating the mechanisms of cytosolic protein homeostasis folding by the Hsp90-Hsp70 molecular chaperone system and the mechanisms by which giant bacteriophage evade host defenses by constructing multiple internal compartments. David has been instrumental in developing of direct phasing methods for SAXS, three dimensional deconvolution and Structured Illumination light microscopies, automated cryo-electron tomography, the K2 Summit single electron counting direct detector, and second-generation beam-induced motion correction software. His work has been recognized by his election to the National Academy of Sciences in 2007 and American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2009.

Nov 18, 2021 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

* Required information