webinar register page

Webinar banner
Cocktails and Conversations: AI – IA: Familiarity by appearance yet in reality unknown, taking charge of the future of International Arbitration
New Perspectives, New Opportunities: Emerging Themes in Dispute Resolution, a multi part, hybrid seminar series of “Cocktails and Conversations.”

JAMS and CIArb present:
AI – IA: Familiarity by appearance yet in reality unknown, taking charge of the future of International Arbitration

Wednesday, October 27 at 6:30 P.M. London/7:30 P.M. Paris/1:30 P.M. New York/10:30 A.M. Los Angeles
75 minute program followed by cocktails and hors d oeuvres

International arbitration relies on consistency and appropriate analysis and as many practitioners have articulated because the virtual experience also needs the human factor. So how can AI and IA work together? As we emerge from the totally virtual world many have stated the importance of human interaction and does AI replace human interaction or does it enhance? What elements can be enhanced and what part of the process do we require human interaction? Does AI replace analysis, or should it be used sparingly? Should only AI be used for technical analysis and is this reliable? These and many other questions are emerging and as they emerge additional questions need to be answered.

This discussion will focus on the benefits AI will provide for international arbitration and some of the inherent challenges petitioners have already faced when using the virtual environment. The panel will discuss not only the use of technology in international arbitration but the technology itself and what additional safeguards should be introduced. There will also be an examination of what additional mechanisms might need to be considered to fully embrace the opportunity that it can provide for all types of international arbitration, across a broad spectrum of jurisdictions and industries.

Panelists:
- Ryan Abbott, JAMS
- Ranse Howell, JAMS
- Lewis Johnston MCIArb, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators
- Colin Rule, Mediate.com
- Conna Weiner, JAMS

Additional speakers to be confirmed.

Oct 27, 2021 06:30 PM in London

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: JAMS Global.