webinar register page

Webinar banner
This webinar is for users with a Zoom account. New to Zoom? Sign up free.
Public Lecture - Philippe Block
The Block Research Group (BRG) at the Institute of Technology in Architecture at ETH Zürich is led by Prof. Dr. Philippe Block and Dr. Tom Van Mele. Research at the BRG focuses on several core areas, including analysis of masonry structures, graphical analysis, and design methods, computational form-finding and structural design, discrete element assemblies, and fabrication and construction technologies. The central goals of our geometry-based approach are to understand the real demands of complex structural design and engineering problems and to develop new algorithms and efficient, accessible tools for structurally informed design.To address the grand challenges posed by climate change, the group’s research follows the motto “strength through geometry” to reduce greenhouse gas emissions (particularly embodied carbon) and use fewer virgin resources. By developing innovative, structurally informed bespoke prefabrication strategies and novel construction paradigms employing digital fabrication, construction waste can be minimized and productivity dramatically increased.‍

//Time
18:00 - 19:00 (Dubai)
14:00 - 15:00 (GMT)‍

//Fees  
This lecture is FOC and open to all

Jul 20, 2020 06:00 PM in Dubai

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Live Academy.