webinar register page

Webinar banner
Powell's Books Presents Sarah Mirk With Omar El Akkad, Kane Lynch, & Hazel Newlevant


Sep 8, 2020 05:21 PM

* Required information

By registering, I agree to the Privacy Statement and Terms of Service.



Sarah Mirk
Sarah Mirk is a graphic journalist whose work centers on politics, history, and identity. She writes and edits nonfiction comics for The Nib and is a web producer for the Center for Investigative Reporting. Previously, she worked as an editor at feminist nonprofit Bitch Media. She lives in Portland, Oregon.
Omar El Akkad
Omar El Akkad was born in Egypt, grew up in Qatar, moved to Canada as a teenager and now lives in the United States. The start of his journalism career coincided with the start of the war on terror, and over the following decade he reported from Afghanistan, Guantanamo Bay, and many other locations around the world. His work earned a National Newspaper Award for Investigative Journalism and the Goff Penny Award for young journalists. His debut novel, American War, is an international bestseller and has been translated into 13 languages. It won the Pacific Northwest Booksellers’ Award, the Oregon Book Award for fiction, the Kobo Emerging Writer Prize and has been nominated for more than ten other awards. It was listed as one of the best books of the year by The New York Times, Washington Post, GQ, NPR, Esquire and was selected by the BBC as one of 100 novels that changed our world. He lives in the woods just south of Portland, Oregon.
Kane Lynch & Hazel Newlevant
Kane Lynch is a cartoonist in Portland, Oregon whose comics and illustrations have appeared in publications including Slate, The Nib, and Psychology Today. ----------------------------------------- Hazel Newlevant is a Portland-raised, Queens-residing cartoonist, whose comics include No Ivy League, Sugar Town, If This Be Sin and Tender-Hearted. They have edited and published the anthologies Chainmail Bikini and Comics for Choice. Their work as a cartoonist and editor has been honored with the Ignatz Award, the Eisner Award, and the Prism Comics Queer Press Grant.