Webinar banner
ABCI: An Open Innovation Platform for Advancing AI Research and Deployment
Invited Speaker: Dr. Ryousei Takano, AIST, Japan

With the recent global interest in artificial intelligence (AI), Japan's National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) is positioning itself to be one of the leaders in the development and deployment of AI applications for both industry and society. AI technologies, especially machine/deep learning, are highly dependent on computation at scale using big datasets to train AI algorithms and improve their accuracy. To address this computational challenge, AIST built ABCI, the world's first large-scale, open innovation platform for AI research and development. ABCI consists of 1088 computation nodes with 4352 NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPUs and 22 PB storage system, all housed in an ultra-green datacenter building. This platform integrates high performance computing, big data, ultra-high bandwidth, and low latency hardware in a modern design to enable better cooperation between HPC applications and machine learning, which will become a very important factor in the future of AI. To facilitate academic AI research, we are connecting ABCI to a global, high-speed network research platform to extend research opportunities to a broad number of international institutions. In this talk, I will give an overview of ABCI and the potential applications and collaboration utilizing the computational capacity and capability.

Time zone conversions:
April 10 @2pm Hawaii | 5pm US Pacific | 6pm US Mountain
April 11 @7am Thailand | 8am Taiwan/The Philippines/Malaysia | 9am Japan/S. Korea (apologies to friends in Portugal @1am)


(You will receive an auto-confirmation from noreply@zoom.us with the participation link to this webinar. The information you provided will remain completely anonymous, only be utilized to generate statistical summary for annual report and future CENTRA webinar outreach planning.)

Apr 10, 2019 08:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: CENTRA Hub.