webinar register page

Webinar banner
Quantitative History Webinar Series: Fractured-Land and Political Fragmentation (Mark Koyama, George Mason University)
Live on Zoom on July 9, 2020
09:00 Eastern Time | 14:00 London | 21:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore | 22:00 Tokyo

Patterns of political unification and fragmentation have crucial implications for comparative economic development. Diamond (1997) famously argued that “fractured-land” was responsible for China’s tendency towards political unification and Europe’s protracted political fragmentation. Mark Koyama and his co-authors build a model with granular geographical information to quantitatively gauge the effects of “fractured-land” on state formation in Eurasia. They find that a broad version of the “fractured-land” hypothesis that takes into account both topographical features and the location of productive agricultural land is necessary and sufficient, within their model, to account for China’s recurring political unification and Europe’s persistent political fragmentation. In particular, the existence of a core region of high land productivity in Northern China plays a central role in their simulations. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Mark will discuss how their results map into observed historical outcomes and how robust their findings are.

Mark's co-authors: Jesús Fernández-Villaverde, Youhong Lin, and Tuan-Hwee Sng (May 10, 2020)

This Webinar is a joint event with Economic History of Developing Regions Virtual Seminar
hosted by the journal "Economic History of Developing Regions" of the Economic History Society of Southern Africa.

Jul 9, 2020 09:00 PM in Hong Kong SAR

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Quantitative History Webinar Series.