Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
Discourse: A Baha’i Perspective
The House of Justice has asked the Baha'i community to engage in the discourses of society:

‟When society is in such difficulty and distress," the Universal House of Justice writes in its May 9th 2020 letter to the National Spiritual Assemblies of the world, ‟the responsibility of the Bahá´ís [is] to make a constructive contribution to human affairs". Community building, social action, and involvement in the discourses of society are at the forefront of guidance from the Universal House of Justice as ways to contribute to social transformation. "Bahá´í contributions to discourses newly prevalent in society are generating heightened interest,” the House writes, “and there is a responsibility to be discharged". The world stands ‟in need of clear voices that can articulate" important spiritual principles.

Discourse, along with social action, is one of the ways that we can apply good and transformative ideas to change and improve society. It is the action component of our activities and where the rubber hits the road for learning and being involved in our communities, towns, places of work, and our professional spaces.

What is discourse, why are we being asked to participate in it, and how do we do it? This presentation and discussion will address these questions, with a focus on discourse applied to environmental issues.

This webinar will take place Saturday, March 27th 2021 at:
2pm EDT (New York)
6pm GMT (UK)
7pm CET (Europe)
11:30pm IST New Delhi

Speaker Bio:
Stephen Friberg has a PhD in physics with a specialization in quantum optics. His career in physics has included appointments at Bell Labs and the NTT Basic Research Labs in Japan. Stephen is enthusiastic about engaging the public in discourse on Baha’i principles, especially those related to the harmony of science and religion.

This is one of a monthly series of webinars on environmental action & issues hosted by the International Environment Forum: https://iefworld.org

Mar 27, 2021 07:00 PM in Amsterdam

Meeting logo
Loading
* Required information