Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
The Expanding Missions and Rising Prominence of Southeast Asian Coast Guards
Indo-Pacific Maritime Hour
Thursday, 20 May 2021, 20:00 (Tokyo)/19:00 (Manila/Singapore)/ 18:00 (Jakarta)

The Expanding Missions and Rising Prominence of Southeast Asian Coast Guards
YCAPS Indo-Pacific Maritime Hour (via Zoom)
Thursday, 20 May 2021, 20:00 (Tokyo)/19:00 (Manila/Singapore)/ 18:00 (Jakarta)

YCAPS will host a discussion with Professor Captain Satya Pratama (Indonesian Coast Guard) and Commander Jay Tarriela (Philippine Coast Guard) as a part of its Indo-Pacific Maritime Hour webinar series. The speakers will provide their perspective on why Southeast Asian Coast Guard have been growing in term of mission, resources and prominence. They will also touch on the biggest challenges facing these forces and the range of maritime threats that they must address. These Coast Guard are engaged directly or indirectly with tasks that include sovereignty protection, maritime resource management, anti-piracy, counter-terrorism and other law enforcement activities. They will then take your questions.

Format: This event will be off-the-record.

Speaker biographies:
Captain Satya Pratama, serves as the Deputry Director for International Cooperation for the Indonesian Coast Guard (BAKAMLA). He has extensive experience in marine and maritime related international cooperation, policy making and development. He earned a Master of Science (MSc) focused in Applied communication Science Minoring in Forest and Nature Conservation Policy from Wageningen University and Research Centru.

Commander Jay Tarriela recently completed his PhD at the National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies (GRIPS) in Tokyo, Japan. Previously, he was assigned at the Philippine Coast Guard national headquarters in Manila, and performed numerous functions in different capacities, includi

May 20, 2021 08:00 PM in Osaka, Sapporo, Tokyo

Meeting logo
Loading
* Required information