Meeting Register Page

Nmadili Okwumabua Guest Lecture hosted by Athabasca University RAIC Centre for Architecture
Global Studio Lecture Series

Title:
Africa Defines Architecture: The Quest for Defining New African Inspired Design Languages that are Culturally and Environmentally Sustainable.
Nmadili Okwumabua, Founder, CPDI Africa
The Global Studio for African Centered Architecture

Date: Thursday, September 17th, 2020
Time: 9:00am – 10:30am (MDT) / 11:00am – 12:30 pm (EDT )/ 5:00pm – 6:30pm (SAST)
Venue: Online Video Conference

To Register: http://architecture.athabascau.ca/news
Abstract:
Believing that the development of our built environment should be as it has always been, a collaborative effort between the community members and designated master builders, Nmadili Okwumabua will deliver a ground breaking online lecture on the evolution and transformation of African culture, aesthetics, spirituality, materials, design philosophies, and the contemporary translation of these elements in today’s built environment. Creating a new pedagogy for teaching African centred architecture in the process, the lecture will chronicle emerging CPDI Africa narratives for development, supplicating collaboration from the design community at large for the accomplishment of its vision - to source tried and true African design philosophies and practices in sustainable design, science and technology, for the development of a holistic and eco friendly global built environment.
For more information, visit www.cpdiafrica.org

Sep 17, 2020 09:00 AM in Edmonton

Meeting logo
Meeting is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Meeting host: Henry Tsang.