Meeting Register Page

New Testament Canon - Why these 27 books
This course looks at the actual historical documentation from the 1st, 2nd and 3rd centuries to understand the processes which brought about our New Testament.

The New Testament portion of the Christian Bible contains 27 different books, or letters written by 10 different authors, each from different backgrounds. Why does it contain only 27 documents, and why these 27 documents. Out of the hundreds of documents written during the 1st and 2nd Centuries, why only these 27? And, why were 7 of them at one time disputed, but eventually included?

The Bible itself cannot be used to answer these questions, because the authors themselves never indicated a specific list of exclusive books to be included as a complete set. Was it a single 'council', or organization that determined the final set? The historical evidence shows otherwise.
Nov 19, 2019 07:30 PM
Nov 26, 2019 07:30 PM
Dec 3, 2019 07:30 PM
Dec 10, 2019 07:30 PM
Dec 17, 2019 07:30 PM
Dec 24, 2019 07:30 PM
Dec 31, 2019 07:30 PM
Jan 7, 2020 07:30 PM
Jan 14, 2020 07:30 PM
Time shows in
* Required information